# THE AMERICAN LEGION DEPARTMENT OF WISCONSIN

NATIONAL & HOMELAND SECURITY COMMITTEE

Department Spring Meetings, Portage, WI Friday, May 6, 2022 10:00 AM

# MINUTES

Chair Bob Bohr called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM with a salute to the Colors, Invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll Call was taken with the following in attendance:

Bob Bohr, Chair Charlie Young, Vice Chair, POW/MIA Chair Leo Endres, Member Michelle Adams, Member Thomas Lachance, Member Julie Muhle, DEC Liaison Greg Eirich, Department Commander, Ex-Officio Nathan Gear, Department Adjutant, Consultant

Excused: Steve Isensee, Member, Blood Donor Chair

## **READING AND APPROVEL OF MINUTES:**

Motion by Charlie Young, second by Leo Endres to approve the minutes from Department Midwinter. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

**INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS**: PDC Frank Kostka

## **CHAIR REPORTS:**

#### **BLOOD DRIVE REPORT:**

Steve Isensee was not in attendance. Chair Bohr reported that there will be a blood drive at Department Convention. Please monitor communications from Department HQ concerning sign up for donation.

#### **POW/MIA REPORT:**

Charlie Young reported that since his last report, that 21 more POW/MIAs have been recovered – 13 soldiers, 6 Air Corp, and 2 sailors. 14 were from WWII and 7 from Korean War. 81,600 Americans are still missing.

#### **OLD BUSINESS:**

The Group discussed the new Troop and Family Support application changes. The changes made now include all veterans. The application was updated by Department Veteran Service Officer James Fialkowski. Chair Bohr spoke to Department HQ Finance Office - \$8800 are available for Troop and Family Support. Chair Bohr is going to have information added to the year book to solicit help for Troop and Family Support.

#### NEW BUSINESS: Awards:

Motion by Bob Bohr, second by Charlie Young to award the National Guard Reservist of the Year award to Gerald Gerber. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Motion by Charlie Young, second by Michelle Adams to award the Firefighter of the Year award to Scott Thimm. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Motion by Charlie Young, second by Leo Endres to award the EMT of the Year award to Vanessa Marratt. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Motion by Bob Bohr, second by Charlie Young, to award the Law and Order Award to Matthew Spence. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Meeting was adjourned at 10:50am per ritual.

Respectfully submitted;

Bob Bohr, Chair